Guy Gavriel Kay wins a World Fantasy Award

Finally, Guy Gavriel Kay receives his due! His latest, Ysabel, just won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel.

The author was a victim of highway robbery when they failed to give him the award for Tigana, in my own humble opinion. Still, after a couple of nominations, Kay received the award on Canadian soil. That's something, I guess. . .

Congrats to Guy and the rest of the World Fantasy Awards winners!

Here's the full list:

Novel: Ysabel, Guy Gavriel Kay (Viking Canada/Penguin Roc)
Novella: Illyria, Elizabeth Hand (PS Publishing)
Short Story: “Singing of Mount Abora”, Theodora Goss (Logorrhea, Bantam Spectra)
Anthology: Inferno: New Tales of Terror and the Supernatural, Ellen Datlow, Editor (Tor)
Collection: Tiny Deaths, Robert Shearman (Comma Press)
Artist: Edward Miller
Special Award, Professional: Peter Crowther for PS Publishing
Special Award, Non-Professional: Midori Snyder and Terri Windling for Endicott Studios Website

2 commentaires:

Anonymous said...

Well deserved. Ysabel was a fantastic read. I've been a fan of Kay since The Summer Tree, and personally I think his Sarantine duology is one of the most underrated works of the last 25 years. Great news. Any word on a new book from him Pat?

Anonymous said...

Wow, that's great! I rate him as our best - go Canada! :)